Classics that Have Influenced Me

Another list of books I’ve liked.  Some of their influences are more obvious in my writing than others.  These are all classics, and the links will send you to Project Gutenberg.  If you’re not familiar with the site, they’ve been around forever, since before I had the web at least (I remember using the old text based Freenet to read books from them) and have digitized tons of classic, out of copyright books.

Jane Eyre, Charlotte Brontë.  Wonderfully gothic atmosphere, a plain Jane (literally) who gets to be a romantic heroine, a dark and brooding hero.  In short, everything a good romance needs.  I think of The Wizard at Pembrook as my Jane Eyre book.

Pride and Prejudice, Jane Austen.  The other end of romances: light, frothy, drawing rooms and tea.  I’ve had a crush on Mr. Darcy since long before Colin Firth played him (although that certainly helped it along 🙂 )  Ella and the Panther’s Quest has a strong Pride and Prej. influence.

Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland and Through the Looking Glass, Lewis Carroll.  Really two books, but my first copy (which I received when I was two) had both in it, so I think of them as one.  nonsense that makes perfect sense, well most of the time anyway (still not sure what a mome rath is or how it out grabes)

My Last Duchess, Robert Browning.  I short (very short) entry, but I love how you learn everything important about the speaker and his last wife, and even something about who he’s speaking to, without any of the important stuff being said directly.

The Works of William Shakespeare.  Everyone lists him because you’re supposed to, so I’ll be very specific.  For me he’s here because of his fools.  They’re funny and bit a crazy, but they’re also usually the only one who can see what’s really going on and, because they seem so harmless, they can tell the king (or whoever is in power) the truth that everyone else is afraid to.   They also seem to be the only one who can get close to the king.  It’s a type that comes up a lot, my favorite being Gene Sheldon’s Bernando in Zorro (I wish the Disney Channel still played that show)  If  you’re interested, my favorite plays are King Lear and Much Ado About Nothing.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Bookish Hobbit
    Nov 11, 2011 @ 18:52:40

    Jane Eyre is one of my favorite books.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

my web page is www.lisaannenisula.com copyright 2010, 2011 Lisa Anne Nisula
